One of the many questions I’ve been asked is what types of food I have been craving since I got pregnant. To be honest, I don’t crave anything in particular.  However, if I smell it and it smells good, I want it. Or if I hear someone else talking about it and it sounds good, then were bound to eat it for dinner real soon! I was told by a nurse friend of mine that our cravings tend to be our bodies telling us we are in need of something that food has, and as long as we eat it and not overdo it, then we should be fine.

If I had to pick one food item that sounds good regularly, I would have to say dill pickles. Not by themselves, but on hamburgers, with a sandwich or on my sandwich. If they are in it, then it sounds appealing. So, here is a recipe that I use that includes pickles and it’s easy to make. It’s a homemade version of chicken salad which we use for chicken salad sandwiches!

HIS Child’s Chicken Salad Sandwiches (with dill pickles)

1 large can of white chicken breast (can be found around the tuna fish/spam isle) or you can cook and pull apart 1-2 chicken breasts

1-2 dill pickle spears chopped

1/3 of a cup of light mayo

Sprinkle garlic salt to taste (I’d guess about 1-2 tablespoons)

1 boiled egg chopped (Optional)

Shred your chicken. Mix the rest of the ingredients together. Taste as you add your garlic salt for flavor (you don’t want to over salt it). You can add a tomato slice and/or lettuce leaf to your sandwich for a little extra flavor. Enjoy! It’s an easy meal that takes seconds and makes about 4 sandwiches. Plus you can refrigerate what you don’t eat and have it the next day.

So, what did your or do you crave during your pregnancy and what recipes are you willing to share that might help others with that same craving?

