There are so many book on the market today on pregnancy, child rearing that I feel overwhelmed when I enter a bookstore. I don’t want to pay for a book by someone who does not have the same values and morals as I. I don’t want to pay for a book that doesn’t work and has false ideas. So, what books out there are worth paying for and worth reading? Since I am new at this your input would be helpful. But there are a few that I am in the mist of reading and have received high ratings on many sites and by friends and family. Here are the few that I have found so far…

In my last blog I discussed a book called “Baby Wise” by Ezzo and Bucknam. Currently, I have only read to chapter 4, but the information that I have so far received combined with the recommendation of friends has been inspirational. For any mom worried about sleep for both her and her new-born this book has helped put my mind at ease. The first chapter sucked me in. It discusses the importance of the baby joining the family, not taking it over. My husband and I have been the center of each other’s world for several years now and the idea of that changing puts a little fear into my heart. But this book showed how we are a team who is gaining a new member and one of my jobs as a parent is to invite the new member in, but not give them complete control or all my attention.

Another book I am currently reading is “What To Expect When You’re Expecting” by Murkoff and Mazel. Now, this is not a sit down and read through type of book, but as I have questions, concerns and grow into certain areas of my pregnancy I have learned that this book is a wealth of information. Many of my friends recommended it to me. My church also had a copy of it in our maternity section (an area of resources and used clothing for moms to pull from and borrow during pregnancy). I just received “What to Expect the First Year” by Heidi Murkoff which I am told is also a wealth of information. I have not yet gotten to this book.

My husband and I also about to start “Bringing Up Boys” by Josh McDowell since we now know the gender of our child. He also has “Bringing Up Girls” which just recently came out. This is another book that receives high marks from many. I will update you with more information as  I begin reading this book.

So, what other books and resources have you found that are helpful or were helpful in your past pregnancies. I’m sure many of us would like to know. Please share!

