Food becomes much more exciting when you are pregnant. This I have learned in the last 6 months. Everything smells and looks better than it did before and self-control is not really an option anymore. At work, my friday lunches are different from the rest of the week. I tend to have lunch by my self, which I actually enjoy, because it gives me time to think or work on one of my many other projects that need to get done. As I do at most meals, I bowed my head and thanked God for the meal and His many blessings. That’s when it hit me: I am so blessed to have food at my finger tips and there are many pregnant women around the world who struggle to feed themselves daily. I almost started to cry over the idea and my routine prayer time changed that day and every day since. I began praying for those mom’s who don’t have a next meal readily available. And for the fathers who are going without to make sure their wife and expectant child are fed. Talk about a heavy burden to have in one of life’s most joyful events. My heart just broke.

So, today, I ask all of you to pray for the mothers and fathers who carry this burden and deal with this stressful situation on a daily basis. Ask God to send them food to satisfy as well as the message of His love for them.

If anyone knows of a Christian based charity that helps expecting mothers with nourishment, please let me know. I’d like to check into it.

