Deuteronomy 11:18-20 says, “Imprint these words of mine on your hearts and minds, bind them as a sign on your hands, and let them be a symbol on your foreheads.19 Teach them to your children, talking about them when you sit in your house and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up. 20 Write them on the doorposts of your house and on your gates.”

When I look at this passage I don’t see suggestions but commands. And God doesn’t command anything that is impossible to do.

To imprint God’s Word on my heart and mind means I have to read it. And just on Sunday’s is not good enough. I have to read it every day, over and over again. Fr the last few years I’ve been addicted to You Version and the Chronological Bible Reading Plan. I like reading the Bible in the order that it happened. It makes more sense to me. And yes, that means that the Bible as a whole is not in the order of events. For example, the story of Job occurs in the middle of Genesis. Sometimes I take just a verse and sometimes I take a chapter or two, but it’s a daily discipline. And discipline means that it doesn’t always come easy. I don’t always want to do it, but I don’t always want to cook dinner, take our the trash, wash the dishes, do the laundry, or go to work; but I do it.

Teaching God’s Word to your kids requires knowing it too; and taking the time to read it and share it with them. As the mother of small children, my husband and I make sure we read a portion of a children’s Bible to them every night. Right now, we really like the Picture That! 2 Bible Storybook by Tracy Harrast and Garry Colby. It keeps them involved in the Bible story as we read.

Talking about God’s Word through out your day takes some discipline too. It’s considered odd to some that you would attribute nice weather to God or thank Him in your trials. But it’s the subtle and un-subtle references to God and His Word that reminds us who His is, but also shares a piece of God with those who know nothing of Him.

So, how do you do your devotion? What keeps you committed to reading God’s Word daily?

In what ways have you found you children interact with Scripture best?

How do you give God credit and involved in your conversations?

I’d really like to hear some of your ideas and comments. They might help the rest of us and give us some great ideas!

